University struggles

Its 2am and I’m wide awake. I’ve been busy today, visited the gym, (new years resolution going well). I even went to university to spend hours revising. Yet, I’m here. Lying in bed and my brain seems to have no intent of resting and letting me sleep.

University has well and truly broken my body and we are only starting our second semester. Living away from home and studying at university is much harder than you first expect.

Firstly you think its going to be incredible living on your own, (I mean of course) doing what you want to do, when you want to do it. The reality is that you don’t do anything that you wouldn’t of done at home, and you don’t have the home comforts. You don’t have someone who can make you dinner. You do not go to the fridge and find it full because mum has done the food shop. The dog that wags his tail when you walk through the door isn’t their at your university halls. Let’s not get started about budgeting and how little money you have either.

Parties. Nights out. Clubbing. Surely that is what university is about?

Unfortunately it’s not. Especially for me living in London I have no money to afford £10 entry prices and drinks triple the price compared to back home. Salvation I miss you.

University is hard, it is a struggle and at times you do wonder how life would be if you were in a job instead. But with the hard times there are good times. Great times. I have made friends for life through this experience, people that I would never have come into contact with otherwise. My course has enlightened me on many world issues and really pushes me as a student. Living away from home has given me stamina, mental strength and independence that I could never have by staying at home. It’s worth pushing through  hard times to reap the rewards at the end.

This is by no means a depressing post, just the feelings of a university student at 2am who cannot sleep.

 

 

Leave a Reply

